Antithodoxy

Ani DiFranco: Cape Cod 7/13/08

I went to my first Ani DiFranco concert a couple weeks ago, and it definitely lived up to my expectations. She played at the Melody Tent, which is a small outdoor venue, so it didn’t matter that I didn’t have great seats. The opening act was Kimya Dawson, who I’ve loved ever since hearing her album Remember That I Love You. Unfortunately, I arrived late and missed most of her set. I did catch her last song, My Rollercoaster, which made me happy. The audience loved her and Ani praised her during her set (at one point Ani stopped a song midway to say something like “this isn’t as cool as Kimya’s dream”). Ani opened with God’s Country and followed with two of my favorite songs, Napoleon (which she described as her manifesto) and Fuel. During Untouchable Face, the audience was on their feet shouting “fuck you” along with Ani, which was awesome. I really hope I’ll get to see her in concert again sometime. Her new album, Red Letter Year, will be out September 30.

Below is the full set list (taken from here).

Set list:
God’s Country
Fuel
Napoleon
Present/Infant
You Had Time
Decree
Subdivision
Landing Gear
Raincheck
Welcome To:
Sunday Morning
Garden of Simple
If He Tries Anything
Anticipate
Untouchable Face
In the Way
Shameless

Encore

Both Hands
32 Flavors

July 26, 2008 - Posted by | Music | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

